How To: Enjoy the Weekend! 

Happy Friday!! For most of us 5 o’clock this evening starts the weekend. I’ve come to realize a lot of people, myself included, struggle to really enjoy the weekend. There’s a lot of expectation to do the MOST on your off days. So, today’s blog post is going to be a simple post about how I enjoy my weekend.  I hope you find some of these useful to spice up your weekend!!

The most important thing for me on the weekend is to ENJOY myself. This blog doesn’t pay my bills but a lot of people don’t realize it is a sort of “job,” I use that term loosely. I enjoy it SO MUCH; but when the weekend comes I am ready to spend time with myself, my family, and my friends. When you’re planning posts, brainstorming ideas, editing and trying to grow an audience you’d like to spread your message to it’s’ time consuming. The weekend is a time to recharge and recover from the week. I’m grateful for the people who have to work weekends, such as, doctors and firemen. Take time on your weekend to remember these people. Don’t be fooled into thinking if you don’t go to the newest movie every weekend or the fancy restaurant that just opened up that you are not going to be able to have a good weekend. Having a fun weekend doesn’t mean spending loads of cash. The following list will be my FAVORITE hobbies on the weekends. And the best thing about them, they’re all free!! Of course, it is nice to go out to dinner, see a movie, or even go to an arcade; but if you don’t have the money you can still enjoy your time off.

  • Reading a good book
  • Laying in bed and daydreaming
  • Watching my favorite movie
  • Starting a new tv series on Netflix
  • Taking my dog for a walk
  • Organizing a family game night
  • Making a phone call to a friend
  • Taking photos with my family/friends
  • Going to the park
  • Reading a new blog series someone has started

Your weekend is your time off, whether it starts on a Friday or a Wednesday. If you want to take a three hour bubble bath, do it. If you want to lay in bed all day and can, do it. If you want to run a marathon, DO IT! Whatever fills you with happiness and soothes your soul and can take you away from the constant chaos of the week, do it. Don’t let a social construct of what you should be doing on the weekend affect what you want to do. This is your time. Do whatever fulfills you and recharges your batteries so you can take on the week! I hope you have a great weekend! Make new memories and have adventures that will last a lifetime. Make this your time to shine. Don’t let fear hold you back. You have one life to live. Do you want to look back one day and wish you’d enjoyed your weekend your way more often?

Leave a Reply

