Mouthy Mondays #4

Happy Monday!! How are you?? I hope you had a fantastic weekend! Remember Mondays aren’t all bad. I, personally, love Mondays. I even wrote about how I have the best Monday ever! It’s always best for me to start Monday off on a positive note because it’s easy to become bogged down in negative thoughts when you’ve had a weekend full of relaxation and recharging. Lately, I’ve been reading and seeing a lot of people who feel invalidated by one circumstance or another. First, let me say you’re more than entitled to those feelings and I respect how you feel and would never try to discredit that. In the world today everywhere you turn somebody is trying to cut somebody else down. I want to share something I think may help, which is this quote by Rob Liano. I’m someone who struggled for a long time with respecting myself, loving myself, and knowing my worth. A very important thing about loving yourself is that these things are not obtained overnight. You can wake up one morning, say “you know what? Today is the day I’m going to start taking care of ME,” and that’s the first step in a happier, healthier you. Keep in mind these are what worked for me. What works for one person isn’t necessarily going to work for another person but I feel a lot of what I’m going to say can work for anyone. In today’s society with social media, we have a preconceived notion that our self worth and our value lies in the number of likes we get on a photo or the number of followers we have on Twitter. I’m here to tell you first hand that is not true. I am a social media junkie; I love to get likes on my photos and I love to share my thoughts on this blog. I don’t have a lot of followers across my social media platforms at all. When you go to bed at night YOU have to love yourself. Those likes are not going to make you feel better; of course, they may for a short period of time but never in the long run. When you wake up the next day those likes are not going to tell you how truly amazing you are. Your self worth is much deeper than the superficial layer we’re all exposed to. Do not ever feel less than because of another person. People who don’t agree with your thoughts, views, and opinions will do whatever they can to undermine you. They’ll say things such as you are stupid, you do not know what you are talking about, you are too young to know anything about that, etc. When you look in the mirror, tell yourself three things you like. Counter out the negativity thrown at you with positivity. Find three things every day that you adore, even if they’re the same as the day before. They don’t have to be physical things. You can look in the mirror and say “I am a good person, I am kind, I AM ENOUGH. Every single day I want you to tell yourself that. You are enough. You are here for a reason. You are loved. You love yourself. THAT IS ENOUGH. Do not put your value in another person. People will love you and you will love people back, but I want so deeply for you to love yourself. When life is hard and things seem to be crashing down you will always have yourself when other people choose to walk away because they can’t be bothered or they are busy with their own lives. Once you realize your self love, worth, and value no one can take that away from you. People you depend on and love deeply have the potential to let you down. When these people walk about that you put your value you, you’ll shatter. Do not let that be the case. It is easy for people to attack and to lash out and to try and bring you down, but don’t let them. People who are consistently angry and try to hurt you with words have their own struggles. Instead of reciprocating anger show them kindness. Everyone has to stop looking to social media, a significant other, a parent, and friends for validation. They don’t get to live in your head with you. Learn to love yourself. Accept your flaws. Accept the things you can not change. Accept the broken pieces of you. Accept everything that you are. Once you do these things you will know true self love. Today, I am accepting me for all that I am, all that I will be, and all that I am not. I hope if not today then one day you will be able to love yourself fully and unconditionally.

Leave a Reply

