My Top 3 Favorite Books

Reading is something a lot of people either love or hate. If you hate reading my advice to you is do not stop trying. Pick up different kinds of novels, read reviews, start with small books. If you can read on social media sites then I promise you can find books you will love! If you try and try and try and still do not have the desire to read regularly then maybe you can take a look into Audible, which offers audiobooks so all you have to do is listen. I used to be an incredibly avid reader but lately, I have fallen off the wagon and I am trying to get back into the swing of things. To me, reading is such an important aspect of life. Reading increases not only your vocabulary but your imagination and in my opinion your life. Reading opens up worlds you would never have known existed. In today’s post, I am going to share the three standalone books I love the most. This post won’t include series today because there are SOOOOO many of those I love dearly. The ones I’m going to share with you today I feel have made an incredibly large impact in my life. 

I started reading when I was very young, my grandmother wanted all her children and grandchildren to have the best opportunities at life from a young age so she began reading to us almost from birth. By the time I entered school age I could already read, write, and count without any help. The entirety of my family minus a few people here and there in my memory have always been consistent readers. To this day you will not catch my mother or grandmother without a book in their hand or purse. The positive thing about growing up in a family of readers was I never paid any attention to the kids who said reading was not “cool” or that I was not “cool” for liking to read. Books opened up a whole new world to me, places and people that I could never actually see and meet. I have more than three favorite books. You can ask me in a years time and I might tell you three entirely different books that are my but today, in this moment, these are the ones I would like to share with you and hope you dive into them head first. These books have given me insurmountable moments of joy, sadness, and driven me to think far deeper than I would have without them.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Steven Chbosky. This a coming of age story that dives deep into what it is like trying to find your way in the world, making long lasting friendships, learning about love, and dealing with an incredibly sensitive subject matter. This book for me personally made me feel like there were other people out there in the world who felt just as lost as I did, this book gave me a hope that I never knew I needed. This book is also only 213 pages. I highly suggest this book as well as the movie adaptation!

“So, I guess we are who we are for a lot of reasons. And maybe we’ll never know most of them. But even if we don’t have the power to choose where we come from, we can still choose where we go from there. We can still do things. And we can try to feel okay about them.”

perks

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell is a book that is read in two different perspectives, one being Eleanor and the other Park. Eleanor and Park are two very different people who end up teaching each other important lessons about how we each have our own idea of what is beautiful. This is a story many can relate two, two star-crossed kids growing up in 1980s Nebraska knowing that most love does not last but that does not you stop trying. I read this book at a time in my life when this was exactly what I needed to get me through.

“I’m sorry about yesterday,” she said.
He hung on to his straps and shrugged. “Yesterday happens.”

Looking for Alaska by John Green. My favorite book of all time. How do I explain this book without spoiling it? To put it simply, this book will have you feel every emotion in the world. This book will make you happy, sad, angry and pull every thought out of joyful. This novel follows three characters  Miles “Pudge” Halter, Chip “The Colonel” Martin and Alaska Young. Alaska is the female lead of this novel who does not fit into a stereotypical role nor do Miles and Chip. This is a close group of friends along with their sidekicks that embark on the adventure of life. The group has to deal with love, happiness, confusion, and true loss. Looking for Alaska is unexplainable in a way that makes sense without reading it. The novel will forever hold a place in my heart simply because I still remember it this day. Stories like this do not come around often. I highly HIGHLY suggest reading this.

“We need never be hopeless because we can never be irreparably broken.”

img_1695

 

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

