A Letter to My Best Friends

A lot of people may question the title to this post. Best friends? More than one? Yes. I wrote a different post, which you can read here. So, without making this introduction paragraph to long, this is a letter to my best friends. Megan, Chriss, & all my other friends who are always there, I love you 5EVER.  First off, I just want to say a simple thank you. For being there for me when no one else would be. Can you guys believe it has been a decade? Best friends like this do not come around very often. I do not have a clue how I was lucky enough to be blessed with two of them. I know I can be hard to deal with. I like to be right and I like to give my input on a lot of things. Thank you for understanding me. The older I get, the more I realize the value of the people closest to me. I would never be able to make it through my highest highs and my lowest lows without you by my side. How could I? You are completely irreplaceable. I have had a lot of people come in and out of my life and there are people in it now who are probably going to end up temporary but not you. You have made such a huge impact in my life. I have never been quite sure how to explain how much you mean to me over all these years, but I hope this gives you some idea. No matter the distance between us, the fights we have, and the endless amount of tacos we go through, I will always be here for you. Samantha Jones said it for me, “we are soulmates.” My mother always encouraged me to find good people to have and keep in my life, which I encourage to everyone reading this, and I did just that. If you are reading this and thinking of your best friend, share this with them. Life is so incredibly short. We do not have time to sit around and wait for the right moment to tell people how much we care about them and everything that they have done for us. Let people know right now while you still can. I encourage you strongly to find people you can watch four seasons of a show with on Netflix. Find people who do not constantly pressure you into doing things you do not want to do. Your friendship is not determined by how often you go out or even how often you see each other. To my best friends, I know we do not see each other as often as we would like but do know my love for our friendship will never change. I know I can make you mad and you can be a little worse sometimes, 😝, but nothing will ever change between us. Thank you for letting me be me. Thank you for accepting all of my broken pieces, even the ones I never talked about. Thank you for putting me back together without ever knowing you were doing it. There is a lot in this world I am thankful for and I need you to know that finding you is one of my greatest complishments in this life. Overall, this is one of the ways I want to express how much I care about you and want you to succeed in any and everything you do. Although we are getting older and things will start to change drastically before we even know it, you will always be my best friend. “Sixteen and you never even judged me, matter fact always thought you were too cool for me.” Thank you for being part of my childhood and taking me into adulthood. Thank you for never leaving.!We are the three amigos. I know the sacrifices you have made and the ones I made for you I would never change.

 

With Love,

Dylan

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

