Five Things I Wish I Knew Before I Started Blogging 

There are a lot of things I wish I knew before I started blogging. I wish I had known what SEO was, I wish I knew how helpful Facebook groups could be, and I definitely wish I knew that blogging can be cutthroat in a way. A lot of people blogging are not doing this because they love it, they are doing it because they want to make money selling you a product that may not even work or that they do not believe in. The problem with that is that the bloggers who DO love what they do and actually want to help and connect with people get pushed to the side. I have learned that blogging is supposed to be fun and I am no longer going to treat it like a job. Today, I am going to share with you 5 MAJOR things I wish I knew before I started my blogging journey.

5 Important Things To Know Before You Start Blogging

1. Views DO NOT come overnight.

I was definitely a person who was under the impression that I would type out a blog post about a random topic and have tons and tons of readers flocking to it. I know I have a lot of things to say and a lot of positive ways to help people, so I should have millions of views right? NOPE. I have yet to break 10,000 views in a month but I am learning that it is okay, for me personally, even though it is not for everyone. Of course, I want more readers and more people to get my message across to because I want to spread what I have to say to the masses. I get views and eventually I will have the tons and tons of readers I want but it is not going to happen overnight. The most important thing to remember is that as long as you love what you are doing, it does not matter if 1 person or 1,000,000 people read it. 

2. This can become a job with a livable income, but it takes a lot of work.

People make money from blogging all the time and there are a ton of different ways to do that. I did not start blogging to try to make money but I have to say the idea is very enticing. If you want to blog for money, do your research. Decide if you would like to run ads on your blog, work with companies, or do paid product reviews. Remember that these things will not happen overnight and you will have to work for them but if you keep pushing towards it, eventually you will get there. ALSO, you can do this for free. You can have a successful blog without making it your full-time job. I have so many aspirations in life and blogging is one of them. Hard work does not go unnoticed, paid or not. Do not do this chasing bigger pockets because you will get let down quickly.

 3. You will get discouraged at some point, but you can not give up.

Your brain will tell you at one point “give up,” “this is not worth it,” “why are you doing this again?” but you have to ignore that. Blogging is so incredibly fun but it can get hard when you feel like you put out the most amazing piece of work to date and you get 0 views on it. Sometimes you lack in ideas, sometimes you feel like you are copying others because they beat you to an idea you had, and sometimes you just get down right tired but you have to keep going. Do what you like to do. Do not put yourself in a blogging bubble. If you like something and want to blog about it, do it. No one has become successful overnight. Hard work, determination, and a soul that is on fire are what will take you places.

4. Make sure you interact with other people, reach out, do more than just chasing views. Make a real connection with your audience who appreciates your work.

People who appreciate the honesty you are putting out on your blog are the ones who will make you successful. People who are willing to read your work and comment and give feedback are the ones you NEED to connect with. A loyal audience is something every blogger needs and you can not expect to have that without putting in the work. Respond to your comments, join group chats, start your own Facebook group to talk to people. This is so easy to do, especially when your blog is still small because you can really get that one on one with people that everyone desires. DO NOT bullshit your audience who trusts you for money or free products. If your readers are loyal to you then you should be loyal to them.  There are tons of Facebook groups for connecting with other bloggers as well and I LOVE them.

5. Your message is yours to share, do not let people tell you it is wrong.

You can blog about blogging, you can blog about fashion, you can even blog about how to bathe a puppy. You are allowed to blog about anything in the world. The beauty of being able to write a blog post is that there are no rules. Now, not everyone is going to agree with you. People may even leave nasty comments but as long as YOU believe in what you are putting out it does not matter what negative people say. Listen to positive criticism, adjust what you think you need to, and carry on with what you love. I love blogging about a multitude of things in my life, which is why if anyone asks I say I am a lifestyle blogger. The things you read here have played a role in my life in one way or another. I love sharing my life and my journey with people who may be on the same journey as me or a completely different one. My message is one of love, accepting people, living a happy life, and loving yourself. I believe in my message and no one will ever tell me that it is wrong and that I can not do it.

5 Things I wish I had KNown Before I Started BLogging 2 (1)

Leave a Reply

