Simple Spicy Rice & Chickpea Salad 

If you are anything like me, you love food. The problem for most people nowadays is how pricey grocery shopping can get, ESPECIALLY for a family. Of course, there are things you do not HAVE to have that could lower your bill but why not shop smart so you can still have those things that are not necessary? Today I am going to be sharing with you a recipe I literally threw together in my kitchen of random items I had that you would not think necessarily go together but I PROMISE this is one of my favorite meals and one that always fills me up without any problem at all. I will say this is an incredibly high carb meal so if you are not a fan of carbs, which I do not know why you would not be, then this recipe may not be for you. Also, it is LOW fat which is a win for me. I hope you enjoy this meal as much as I do and if you do please tag me on Instagram @imdylanwestfield or Twitter @_deems if you try it out for yourself!! The best part of all this too is that it came from Walmart. No fancy, unattainable ingredients here! And no, this is not sponsored. I just live 5 miles from Walmart in a country town in Louisiana and Walmart is what I have to work with.

Ingredients you will need:

1 15.5 oz can of chickpeas – $0.72

1 Cup of  Great Value parboiled rice – $5.66 for a 160 oz bag

3 TBSP of Pace Hot Salsa – $1.98 for a 16 oz jar

About 10-15 Mezzetta Jalapenos – $1.82 for a 16 oz jar

A sprinkle of Tajin – $3.88 for a 9 oz bottle

1/4 of a head of lettuce – price depends on your store.

Total price: Less than $20 for all reusable items besides the one can of chickpeas

 

How to make:

Step 1: Measure 2 cups of water into a pot and add 1 cup of rice and bring to a boil. After your rice comes to a rolling boil, cover with a lid and simmer for about 20 minutes.

Step 2: After rice has cooked, pour into a strainer and rinse. After your rice has been rinsed, pour in into a large bowl.

Step 3: Open chickpeas and pour into pot, DO NOT DRAIN. Heat on stove until your desired temperature is reached.

Step 4: Drain chickpeas and add to rice in the bowl.

Step 5: Wash and cut your lettuce. Dry well with paper towels or clean dish towel so you do not have soggy food.

Step 6: Add your lettuce to the rice and chickpea mixture. You can use however much you would like, I use about 1/4 of a cup.

Step 7: Measure out your salsa, jalapenos, and Tajin seasoning and add to rice and chickpea mixture.

Step 8: Mix all ingredients together well with a large wooden spoon.

Step 9: Serve into bowls.

Step 10: Add more salsa on top! Or just refrigerate your leftovers as long as it is completely cooled down.

 

PHOTOS OF MOST OF THE STEPS:

Now I know I am not the best cook in the world and I am definitely no food photographer but I really enjoyed the making of this blog post. I like to cook and throw weird ingredients together. I can ensure you that there will undoubtedly be more food content coming to the blog in the future! I hope you enjoyed this post and if you did not, well stick around because I am always coming up with new ideas! I just wanted to make an affordable, filling meal for the average person from a grocery store most people have access to. My favorite part about this is that all but ONE ingredient in this recipe is something you will use more than one time. Also, you do not have to follow this exactly! Put your own twist on it. I hope you have a great weekend as this is going up on Friday and find a day to make this DELICIOUS meal!

img_2790

9 Comments

Leave a Reply

