10 Ways To Save Money Starting Today!

Are you someone who has trouble saving money? I know I have been bad with money at different points in my life. So, today I am sharing my ten tips for saving money! I am not promising these tips will make you a millionaire but I am saying that you will undoubtedly save more money using these different methods of keeping extra cash in your pocket. I use these “tips and tricks” pretty much every day and I wanted to share them with you guys! Without more rambling here is my take on how to save money!

1.The first and easiest way is to MAKE.A.BUDGET.

I stress making a budget ALL THE TIME. In other blog posts, in person to my friends, I even tell my own parents how important it is to budget. Know how much money you make weekly and monthly. Make a list of your bills. Make a list of everything you have to have such as food, gas, etc. Then decide what you can afford from that. Can you afford $1500 rent and a $400 car note? If not maybe you should budget in a used car or a house that may cost a little less. Budgeting is going to save you in the long run and will help keep you out of debt.

2. Eat at home.

Eating out at McDonalds and restaurants adds up. QUICK. What you spend on one meal at a restaurant or fast food place can buy you groceries at home. Not to mention it is easy to be unhealthy eating out too much. When you cook at home you can control exactly what goes into your food. Also, food like beans and rice come in at a low cost and can feed your multiple times.

3. Buy the store brand as long as it costs less.

The store brand is typically just as good as the name brand BUT you have to pay attention. Not all store brands are cheaper. Comparing prices is vital in knowing where you can save a few cents at. I know a few cents does not sound like a lot but when you are trying to save money it will eventually add up.

4. Start hanging out at home more.

I know a lot of people like to go out and do things with their friends. I am someone who enjoys the occasional day out shopping and going to eat, get drinks, all that fun stuff but that gets expensive. You are paying bills in your home whether it is the rent or the water or the internet bill, so, why not utilize those things? Invite people over for a movie night or have a potluck where everyone brings one thing and you ALL save some money and still get to hang out and have a good time.

5. Sell things you are not using online.

There are so many different ways to sell things online. From apps like Poshmark to websites like eBay, you can definitely find a way to sell some things you are not using anymore. You get money and you get to clear out things you are not using anymore. Honestly, a lot of people look for used things online because they are looking to save money too so it is really a win/win situation for everyone.

6. Invest in a Sams Club, Costco, etc. membership.

I will say this is an initial investment but oh my gosh is it sooo worth it! Stores like these offer bulk items. Yes, it costs more but you are also getting more for you money. You can buy cases of tomato sauce, giant bags of rice, multiple pounds of meat, giant bags of chips and even single serve bags. When you buy in bulk you spend a lot of money BUT you are not buying nearly as often so you save gas not having to go to the store as often and you already will have everything you need at home so it will not be a trip to the store every day.

7. Use apps that save much like Target’s Cartwheel or RetailMeNot.

These apps offer multiple different things. Cartwheel by Target has a barcode scanner where if you can not find an item in the app it will tell you if there is an available cartwheel on it! Cartwheel has anywhere from 5-50% off items available on the app that week. RetailMeNot lets you choose the stores you shop at most and offers in store AND online offers!!

8. Style does not have to be expensive. Hit up the thrift stores!

I used to roll my eyes into the next dimension when people suggested going to a thrift store. I was the person who was dumb. I did not realize the thrift store could be like a treasure hunt. You can find really good stuff at the thrift store. Do not get me wrong, I do not think you will be able to find everything you want at a thrift store but you can find some good stuff if you just look. Also, you can find more than just clothes. You can get dishes, books, dressers, etc. The thrift store has a lot to offer if you are just willing to go and look.

9. If you are able to, walk to stores, shops, restaurants, etc when you can.

I know not everyone can make walking to and from a daily thing, but if you can PLEASE do it! When you walk to a store it makes you really think about what you need because you are going to have to carry it back home and you get exercise in! Also, gas is expensive, that is nothing new so walking will save so much and help improve your health.

10. Make a game plan before going to the store.

Actually look at the coupons online, in the newspaper, and utilize the sale paper. I used to throw all of that stuff directly into the trash can until one day my mom started to explain to me how important it was to at least look through it. My family has always been fortunate and we have never overly struggled but we have definitely had times when we really had to pinch some pennies. Do not let someone make you feel embarrassed for using coupons and buying sale items. They are literally dumb if they think a brand of ketchup dictates who you are as a person. Be smart and make sure YOU are able to make it from day to day.

Thank you for reading!! If you like it, please feel free to share it with your friends! 

Find me on social media here:

www.instagram.com/imdylanwestfield

www.twitter.com/dylanwestfield

www.facebook.com/dylansdaydreamblog

www.pinterest.com/matthewdylan1

6 Comments

  1. I seriously need to get myself on a budget to help save up for my apartment in the fall, thanks for the great tips! Selling online is a great way to get a little extra money!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

